News is timeless

Revealed! 13 Presidential Aspirants Cleared by APC Screening Committee


Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Lagos State Governor Bola Tinubu, Ebonyi State Governor David Umahi. Jigawa State Governor Badaru Abubakar, former Niger Delta Minister Godswill Akpabio and former Transport Minister Rotimi Amaechi are among the 13 presidential aspirants cleared by the All Progressives Party Screening Committee, THISDAY can report.



Others cleared by the committee are former Ogun State Governor Ibikunle Amosun, Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello, Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi, Senate President Ahmad Lawan, former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, former Technology Minister Chris Onu and Tein Jack-Rich.


The report of the screening committee sighted by THISDAY said all the 13 aspirants, comprising 12 men and a woman, met the basic requirements of the law and cleared to participate in the primaries.



The names were arranged in alphabetical order in the report submitted to the National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, by the chairman of the Screening committee, Chief John Oyegun, Friday.


The remaining 10 aspirants were disqualified by the committee.


The committee, according to the report, recommended adoption of consensus candidates among the aspirants but further recommended that if it was impossible to build a consensus, then the party should proceed to hold an elective primary.

Culled from THISDAY

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More